PRINCE 2 refers to “Projects In Controlled Environment” is not only reputed certification for large corporations but small businesses as well. It has become the industry standard for worldwide companies. Many business owners believe that PRINCE 2 methodologies help in enhancing the management control of projects and thus improve operational development. 

The methodologies of the PRINCE 2 approach affect the industrial guidelines and have become a successful framework for managing projects effectively. 

PRINCE 2 is adaptable as well as flexible for project methods. It is an effective method for managing various projects. It helps the professionals to work out who can be involved and what are the responsibilities of the project management team. By achieving the PRINCE 2 Certification, you can learn the set of processes to work within small or large business corporations. 

How many years PRINCE 2 Foundation Certification valid?
The PRINCE 2 Foundation Certification is valid for a lifetime as it never expires. The Foundation certification comes in the form of a PDF e-certificate. Even if any professional loses the certification, then they can order a replacement from the institute of PRINCE 2, which issued it.

How many years PRINCE 2 Practitioner Certification valid?
The PRINCE 2 Practitioner Certification has status either for three years or five years. It is because if you passed your PRINCE 2 Practitioner on 31st December and the exam was based on the previous year syllabus, then the registered status will last for five years. However, if you passed the Practitioner exam on or after 1st January, then the certification status will last for three years.

Procedure for renewal of PRINCE 2 Certification 
Once the project managers achieve PRINCE 2 Certification, it becomes necessary to renew it. It is because if PRINCE 2 Certification does not get in every three years, then it will expire. After that, project managers have to retake the PRINCE 2 exam. 

There are two methods for renewing the PRINCE 2 Certification:

1. Renewal of PRINCE 2 Certification through Re-registration exam
After you get the PRINCE 2 Practitioner Certification, then you can re-sit for the PRINCE 2 reregistration exam at the end of the third year. The reregistration exam of PRINCE 2 Certification is similar to that of PRINCE 2 Practitioner. However, the only difference is that there are less number of questions, along with a shorter duration of time. The difference between PRINCE 2 Practitioner Certification exam and PRINCE 2 Re-registration exam include:

PRINCE 2 Practitioner Certification exam

PRINCE 2 Certification Re-registration exam

It includes objective type questions.

It includes objective testing but less number of questions as compared with Practitioner exam.

There are 80 questions.

There are 30 questions.

To pass the examination, you need 55%, that is; to pass 44 marks out of 80.

To pass the examination, you need 55%, that is; 17 marks out of 30.

The professionals are given total of 150 minutes or 2.5 hours duration.

The professionals are given total of 60 minutes or 1 hour duration.

It is open book test.

It is open book test (official PRINCE 2 manual only).

However, the reregistration exam is quite stressful for the professionals as you have to re-sit for the examination. You have to start preparation again for qualifying the certification. Moreover, three years is not a short time, and it is tough to remember all the essential topics of PRINCE 2 Certification. It becomes necessary to refresh your knowledge and to prepare for the exam again. It will take a significant time to get ready to achieve the PRINCE 2 Certification again.

2. Renewal of PRINCE 2 Certification through AXELOS Membership

It is the most convenient as well as an affordable way to renew PRINCE 2 Certification. Once you pass the PRINCE 2 exam, you can join Axelos membership. After that, you can keep your membership for three years. However, in every year of a membership program, you need to submit 20 CPDs which stand for Continuing Professional Development. So, at the end of the third year of membership, you are completed with 60 CPDs. After that, you can apply for PRINCE 2 Certification renewal. The professionals certified with PRINCE 2 Certification need to keep their knowledge of project management up-to-date. 

There are four critical categories necessary for earning PRINCE 2 CPD points:

Experience in project management
Every PRINCE 2 certified professional needs to earn five CPD points from professional experience. If the professionals are working in the field of project management, then they must know how to apply PRINCE 2 methodologies effectively. The experience of project management will get count while handling various business projects, and you can easily earn 5 CPD points from this category. 

Community Participation for PRINCE 2 Certification renewal
Every year there are multiple project management conferences, activities, seminars, and programs. By attending such project management activities, you can earn CPD points for PRINCE 2 Certification. It is easy to collect CPD points from such activities as you can make one CPD point by attending the one-hour activity. In a year, you can earn a maximum of 15 CPD points from this category. Moreover, by participating in such programs continuously for five years, you can earn 5 CPD points each year. In addition to it, if you organize any event regarding project management, then you can earn 15 CPD points every year from this category. 

Self-study for PRINCE 2 examination material
It is the last method for PRINCE 2 Certification renewal method. There are numerous sources which are available offline as well as online for learning the project management principles. By reading various books, blogs, articles, and researching the topic, you can enhance learning skills and achieve PRINCE 2 Certification. From the category of self-study, you can gain a maximum of 5 CPD points every year.

PRINCE 2 Certification Training
You can attend PRINCE2 Certification Training for achieving the remaining 15 CPD points. By attending the training program for understanding the project management practices, you can bring required CPD points. However, there is a specific limit. Every year, you can earn a maximum of 15 CPD points from this category and move forward towards PRINCE 2 Certification membership. 

Though there are two ways for renewing the PRINCE 2 Certification, it is still preferable to go for the renewal method through membership. While working on various project management activities, you can earn 5 CPD points every year. You can achieve the remaining 15 CPD points by course training. In this way, you can make a total of 20 CPD points and can apply for PRINCE 2 Certification renewal.