The classic seven wonders were:

  • Great Pyramid of Giza
  • Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • Statue of Zeus at Olympia 
  • Temple of Artemis at Ephesus 
  • Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • Colossus of Rhodes
  • Lighthouse of Alexandria

Great Pyramid of Giza 

Hanging Gardens of Babylon 

Temple of Artemis at Ephesus 

Statue of Zeus at Olympia 

Mausoleum of Halicarnassus 2009.jpg 
The site of the Mausoleum lies in ruins today

Colossus of Rhodes 

Lighthouse - Thiersch.gif 
Lighthouse of Alexandria 

NameDate of constructionBuilderDate of destructionCause of destructionModern location
Great Pyramid of Giza2584–2561 BCEgyptiansStill in existenceGiza Necropolis, Egypt
Hanging Gardens of Babylon c. 600 BC (evident)BabyloniansAfter 1st century BCEarthquakesHillah, Babylon Province, Iraq 
Temple of Artemis at Ephesus c. 550 BC; and again at 323 BCLydians, Greeks356 BC (by Herostratus)
AD 262 (by the Goths)
Arson by Herostratus, plunderingIzmir Province, Turkey
Statue of Zeus at Olympia 466–456 BC (Temple)
435 BC (Statue)
Greeks5th–6th centuries ADDisassembled; later destroyed by fireOlympia, Greece
Mausoleum at Halicarnassus351 BCCarians, Greeksby AD 1494EarthquakesBodrum, Turkey
Colossus of Rhodes 292–280 BCGreeks226 BC226 BC Rhodes earthquakeRhodes, Greece
Lighthouse of Alexandria c. 280 BCPtolemaic Egypt, GreeksAD 1303–14801303 Crete earthquakeAlexandria, Egypt