Singapore's Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2009 named after the city-state's first Prime Minister has recently concluded, pronouncing this year's winner out of the 39 nominations from around the globe. The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is awarded to people and organizations that contribute solutions to the world's numerous water problems. This year's winner is Professor Gatze Lettinga from The Netherlands, the same scientist who designed an environmentally-sustainable process for water treatment using anaerobic bacteria. Professor Lettinga's technology doesn't only make use of anaerobic processes in an eco-friendly way, it's also cost-effective. Plus, the methane byproduct can be used as fuel to power plants and offset operating costs. Lettinga opted not to have his novel use of anaerobic bacteria patented, so as a result, the process is already in widespread use today. "I believe that innovative technologies for treating used water, waste, and gas, especially those that focus on closing the loop and recovering resources, will contribute to more sustainable living which the world urgently needs," the professor says.